The Cause – New Play for Warren Township

So, big exciting announcement time – This October, there will be a World Premiere of my new full-length play “The Cause” at Warren Township High School directed by Adam Miller. The show runs October 4th, 5th, and 6th, and there will be a discussion/talk-back after some of the shows (details to be finalized still). They start rehearsals at the end of the month, and I’ll be attending as many rehearsals as I can to help out (when I’m not getting married or on my honeymoon that is).

This is the show that I’ve been working on most of the summer, (under the tentative title “Uprising”) and I’m incredibly proud of it. The play is about a group of students at the James School, a prestigious American boarding school, and their discovery of the sinister nature behind the schools intentions. The main focus of the show is Mason, a strong willed student who organizes a revolution against the school’s Headmaster and rallies his classmates to believe in a better world than what the school is offering them. It’s a show about finding your place and your calling, but it is also about idealism and that hope and desire when you’re young to make the world a better place.

This is a very different kind of show than what I usually write about, mainly because it is much more earnest. Writing a show about high schoolers for high schoolers really changed my approach and lifted a lot of the cynicism that is often inherent in my work. I’m going to be posting a scene or two here on the website, and in the next couple days I’ll be posting character breakdowns and a full synopsis. So keep an eye out for that.

